Seijun Suzuki's The Taisho Trilogy Standard Edition Blu-ray
Drama / Thriller

Seijun Suzuki's The Taisho Trilogy


After over a decade in the wilderness following his firing from Nikkatsu for Branded to Kill (1967), maverick director Seijun Suzuki returned with a vengeance with his critically-praised tryptic of cryptic supernatural dramas set during the liberal enlightenment of Japan’s Taisho Era (1912-26).

In the multiple Japanese Academy Award-winning Zigeunerweisen (1980), two intellectuals and former colleagues from military academy involve their wives in a series of dangerous sexual games. In Kageroza (1981), a playwright is drawn like a moth to a flame to a mysterious beauty who might be a ghost, while Yumeji (1991) imagines the real-life painter-poet Takehisa Yumeji’s encounter with a beautiful widow with a dark past.

Rarely seen outside of Japan, the films in the Taisho Trilogy are considered Suzuki’s masterpieces in his homeland. Presenting a dramatic turn from more his familiar tales of cops, gangsters and unruly youth, these surrealistic psychological puzzles drip with a lush exoticism, distinctively capturing the pandemonium of a bygone age of decadence and excess, when Western ideas, fashions, technologies and art fused into everyday aspect of Japanese life.

Production Year: 1980
Region Code: B
UK Rating: 15
Running Time: 144 / 139 / 128 Mins
Number of Discs: 3
Language: Japanese
Subtitles: English
Audio: Mono 1.0 / Stereo 2.0
Aspect Ratio: 1.37:1 / 1.66:1
Colour: Colour
Director Seijun Suzuki
Cast Yoshio Harada
Cast Naoko Ôtani
Cast Yûsaku Matsuda
Cast Michiyo Yasuda
Cast Kenji Sawada
Cast Tomoko Mariya


• High Definition Blu-ray (1080p) transfers of all three films

• Original uncompressed stereo audio

• Optional English subtitles

• New introductions to each film by critic Tony Rayns

• Making-of featurette

• Vintage interview with Seijun Suzuki

• Tony Rayns on the Taisho Trilogy, a new appreciation of Suzuki’s trilogy

• Trailers

• Reversible sleeve featuring two artwork choices