Ltd Ed
From Lift to The Road: The Films of Marc Isaacs Blu-ray

From Lift to The Road The Films of Marc Isaacs

A comprehensive collection of the films of Marc Isaacs, presented in a 2-Disc Blu-ray Limited Edition Box Set together with a newly-published 80-page book ‘The Human Element’. 

Recognised as one of the foremost documentary filmmakers of his generation, Marc Isaacs creates intimate portraits fuelled by insight, compassion and humour. His empathetic and deeply moving documentaries explore the extraordinary world of the everyday, presenting a unique vision of modern Britain.

This Limited Edition 2-disc Blu-ray Box Set includes the following films:

Disc 1 
Lift (2001)
Travellers (2002)
Calais: The Last Border (2003)
All White in Barking (2008)
Men of the City (2009)

The Old Man and His Bed (2011)
Outsiders (2014)
Touched by Murder (2016)
When Night Falls (2016)

Disc 2 
Someday My Prince Will Come (2005)
Philip and His Seven Wives (2006)
Outside the Court (2011)
The Road - A Story of Life and Death (2013)

Out of Time Installation:
Sisters (2017)
Moments of Silence (2017)
Notes on Bangladesh (2017)
Rainy Days (2017)

“[Isaacs] has quietly built a body of work that puts him amongst the most empathetic documentary observers we have of lives often overlooked”
- Time Out

“Isaacs has an astounding gift for getting people to open up to him and he uses film the way a skilled artist uses paint. The result is beautiful, heartbreaking and profoundly humane” 
- The Times

“Filmmaker Marc Isaacs is one of Britain’s most experimental and revered documentary makers... making films that shine an intimate and revealing light on modern Britain”
- BBC online


Production Year: 2001
Region Code: Free
UK Rating: E
Running Time: 702 mins
Number of Discs: 2
Language: English
Audio: 2.0 Stereo LPCM/24-bit
Aspect Ratio: 1.33:1 / 1:78:1
Colour: Colour
Director Marc Isaacs


  • Presented from new digital transfers from original materials, approved by the director.
  • 80-page book 'The Human Element - from Lift to The Road' featuring new writing by Marc Isaacs on his films, reflections by collaborators including editor David Charap, composer Michel Duvoisin and producer Rachel Wexler; and essays on the films by Graeme Hobbs, Nick Bradshaw, Noel Megahy and Laura Rascaroli.
  • Filmed interviews with filmmaker Marc Isaacs
  • Interview with Nick Fraser, former Commissioning Editor of BBC’s Storyville
  • Follow-up pieces on the films Someday My Prince Will Come and Philip and His Seven Wives
  • Original soundtracks in stereo 24-bit LPCM audio
  • World Premieres on Blu-ray